The Canada Manpower and Immigration Council, the Immigration Appeal Board and the Unemployment Insurance Commission report to Parliament through the Minister of Manpower and Immigration.

Department of National Defence. The Department of National Defence and the Canadian Forces operate under the authority of the National Defence Act (RSC 1970, c.N-4). The Minister of National Defence is responsible for the control and management of the Canadian Forces, the Defence Research Board and all matters relating to national defence. He is also responsible for the construction and maintenance of all defence establishments and facilities required for the defence of Canada.

The Deputy Minister is the senior public servant in the Department and the principal civilian adviser to the Minister on all departmental affairs. He is responsible for ensuring that all policy direction from the government is reflected in the administration of the Department and in military plans and operations. The Chief of the Defence Staff is the senior military adviser to the Minister and is charged with the control and administration of the Canadian Forces. He is responsible for the effective conduct of military operations and the readiness of the Canadian Forces to meet the commitments assigned to them by the government.

A Defence Council, consisting of the Minister of National Defence as chairman, the Deputy Minister of National Defence, the Chief of Defence Staff, the Chairman Defence Research Board, the Vice Chief of the Defence Staff, the Assistant Deputy Minister (Policy), and the Deputy Chief of Defence Staff, meet as required to consider and advise on major policy matters. The Crown corporation Defence Construction (1951) Limited reports to Parliament through the Minister of National Defence.

Department of National Health and Welfare. This Department was established in October 1944 under the Department of National Health and Welfare Act (RSC 1970, c.N-9). An Administration Branch serves both the health and welfare branches. At present the Deputy Minister of Health administers five branches: Health Programs, Health Protection, Medical Services, Long Range Health Planning and Fitness and Amateur Sport. The Deputy Minister of Welfare administers seven branches: Income Security, International and Emergency Welfare, Social Allowances and Services, Canada Pension Plan, Policy Research and Long Range Planning, Policy and Program Development and Co-ordination, and Developmental Programs. The two Deputy Ministers are also involved in Canada's role in international health and welfare programs.

Departmental programs on health include hospital insurance and diagnostic services, medical care insurance, health resources, food and drug supervision, narcotics control, national health grants, federal emergency health services, environmental health, adverse drug reaction reporting, operation of a central clearing house for poison control centres, health, medical and hospital services to Indians and Inuit across Canada and all residents of the Yukon Territory and Northwest Territories, government employee health services and leprosy control as well as assistance and consultation services to the provinces on request.

Welfare programs include the Canada Pension Plan, old age security and guaranteed income supplements, family and youth allowances, the Canada Assistance Plan and emergency welfare services. There are also developmental programs, including national welfare grants, family planning grants and information and grants to groups of retired persons under the New Horizons Program.

The National Council of Welfare reports directly to the Minister who also reports to Parliament for the Medical Research Council.

Department of National Revenue. From Confederation until May 1918, customs and inland revenue Acts were administered by separate departments; after that date they were amalgamated under one Minister as the Department of Customs and Internal Revenue. In 1921 the name was changed to the Department of Customs and Excise. In April 1924 collection of income taxes was placed under the Minister of Customs and Excise and, under the Department of National Revenue Act, 1927, the Department became known as the Department of National Revenue. It operates now under the Income Tax Act, SC 1970-71-72, c.63, as amended.

The Customs and Excise component of the Department is responsible for the assessment and collection of customs and excise duties as well as of sales and excise taxes. The Taxation component is responsible for the assessment and collection of income taxes, Part I of the Canada Pension Plan, and collection of premiums and administration of the coverage provisions of the Unemployment Insurance Act through its 28 district taxation offices and the head office and Taxation Data Centre in Ottawa.

Department of Public Works was constituted in 1867 and operates under the legislative authority of the Public Works Act (RSC 1970, c.P-38). The Department acts as the agent of federal program departments and agencies in ensuring that they have the land, buildings and improvements to land required to carry out their responsibilities effectively, and acts as the agent of the government in seeking to ensure that the nearly \$20 billion that has been invested in federal real property brings the best return. The Department is divided into six administrative regions, with regional headquarters offices at Halifax, Montreal, Toronto, Ottawa, Edmonton and Vancouver. There are subsidiary offices located at other key points across Canada.

858